Clazel

By Clazel

S is for Skunk Cabbage - Mono Monday

..... a pristine white one - seen at Harlow Carr Gardens today. I’ve never seen a white one before, with this striking texture on the flower - commonly they are yellow. Research suggests it’s a variety found on the Kamchatka Peninsula and Japan. I’ve had a tussle with myself as the blue poppies were also incredibly beautiful - can’t resist one in extras.
I was at Harlow Carr on a photo commission- a friend who wanted some portrait photos of herself for her website. I have virtually no experience of portrait photography and she closes her eyes at the flash of a camera - so it was a bit like the blind leading the blind - but we did have fun! She will get some photos! Of course I took dozens! I have put it down to R & D.
A surprising thing happened today. I got a phone call from a 2nd cousin (do correct me if necessary) who had tracked me down - his great grandfather and my grandmother were siblings - I had traced and met his grandmother in 2005 and my contact details were in her papers. He is about to have a child and wanted photos of our mutual ancestors to name his child - I have some and - the wonders of technology - they have been sent by What’s App - wonderful that something seeded many years ago is bringing word of the next generation

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.