But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

East Saltoun Kirk.

I'mrunning a bit late with postings, about two days, I'm not ultra efficient about such things at the best of times but am facing a busy few days. My apologies for this, normal service will be resumed as soon as possible; I often post after midnight but this is becoming a little extreme.
A propos of the above comment, I recall a shaggy dog story on the old radio programme, "Stop Messing About" by the old "Round the Horne" team after the death of Horne himself. The punch line of the sketch was "Norman Jarvis will be exhumed as soon as possible". That puts the level of the comedy into perspective, Mrs TD loves to hear the repeats. I do actually know of a Norman Jarvis, he's secretary of a beekeeping club up North. To quote Eccles in another classic radio programme, "You learn something new every day."

Now back to business:
I cycled over to East Saltoun through a blizzard to help with the time-keeping for a three-up time trial. I arrived with a few minutes to spare and grabbed a few shots of the kirk and a monument; I was quite pleased at the time, but once I saw them on the computer screen and tried to make them presentable I was not happy. No matter what I did they looked boring and I ended up removing most of the colour so that the one selected is almost monochrome since that seemed to be the best compromise. Perhaps I can take a better blip in the summer sunshine, if we ever get any.

The race was not a bundle of laughs either, I arrived there to gently steam in the cold village hall until it was time to start and then sat for three hours in a car with the windows open to prevent them from misting over; we did need to see the riders and be able to read their race numbers in spite of the fact that several of them were trying to hide theirs. By the end we were becoming quite good at it though there were some hectic moments. Once we had finished we returned to the event HQ for tea and a bun only to find all the food had gone - there's gratitude for you.

Cycling home, there was something wrong with the handling of the bike, it turned out that my shivering was going through the handle bars and making the steering somewhat wobbly. Arrived home very tired having done very little all day.

Tomorrow I'm packing ready to visit The Old Lady, I'll be arriving too late to wish her a happy Mothers' Day. Maybe tomorrow will be a "Half Full" day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.