An older business

The original Mouat's store opened in 1907 and the newer building was built in 1911. It has an interesting history. I'm assuming that this tin building, which is attached to the newer building, was one of the original structures but I haven't been able to find any info to confirm that. I've blipped a few photos of different parts of the tin and the seaweed art on it. This building has housed a few different businesses over the years and now is an art supplies shop. Haven't been in there yet.
We've been watching quite a bit of curling, and the name of the skip of the young Scottish team is Bruce Mouat. I found the different pronunciations of Mouat intriguing. The Scottish was Mow-at, as in wow, and it's pronounced Mow-at, as in mow the grass, here. I wonder why and when it changed. 
A quick trip to town to pick up a few things we forgot on Friday. It's been raining all day, good for the garden, and I'm off to pick some arugula, spinach and spring onions for our salad tonight and to prowl the property for tent caterpillars. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.