Eating alone

The "wildlife" sanctuary was deserted. Quite characterestic, I suppose. Or perhaps I am cynical today. Did not point the camera even a single time towards the large lake.

The moment this little deer saw me across the fence with a camera, its eyes lit up and it rushed towards me, poking its nose through the chain linked fence, in the hope of food I suppose. Perhaps it was the one deer trained not to run away from humans.

Though it was a touch eerie, I enjoyed the silence. The sound of my sneakers against the rubble became a deafening noise. If I stood still, I could hear the cries of a variety of birds, the footsteps of a deer herd, the rustle of a peacock's feathers against the grass, the dry branches brushing against one another, and perhaps even the gently falling dry leaf landing upon the ground. The sun was a pale colourless thing, hanging listlessly behind the branches, in dire need of a holiday, it appeared. We left the place soon.

Alternatives:

"No Entry" - hmmm... perhaps not!

Almost dry, but caught in the light

The winding road

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.