Brougham Cab

I found this photo in the OGH archives this morning. In my Blips I am often talking about the Coach House at Old Government House. This  type of vehicle is what the Coach House was originally built to house. Pictured in Victorian period dress is early committee member Libby Stubbs, with this photo taken in 1988.

The Brougham is my favourite of the 5 coaches that used to be at OGH. The correct name is actually Brougham Cab. There is a street in Adelaide with a similar name, Brougham Place. 

This coach is on loan to the Strathalbyn National Trust  Museum, and we are visiting their museum as a group next week. The reason we had to send the 5 horse-drawn vehicles out on loan to museums is that the Coach House was changed into a meeting and function room for the members and visitors to the OGH grounds.

I am presently lobbying for a new toilet block at the rear of the Coach House. My next long-term project after that will be to raise funds for a new building at the rear of the facility to bring back and house all of our historic coaches.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.