Donkey's tooth

The last of my Tiny Tuesday Challenges - the theme Mineral. From the entries I've looked at so far I've learnt a lot!! Who knew what a mineral was exactly how how fascinating minerals are and thank you to those who've added some extra info!
Rummaging through my jewellery box (!) I unearthed a couple of rather nice crystal pendants with silver tops, now displaced by by my Kiwi pounamu, but remaining full of vibes. But I've settled for this ring - I have a feeling I might have blipped it before but hopefully it was so long ago no one will remember. It is large and chunky, always feels warm and reminds me of a donkey's tooth. I think the mineral (!) is jasper and is enclosed in silver:
jasper, an aggregate of microgranular quartz and/or chalcedony and other mineral phases, is an opaque, impure variety of silica, usually red, yellow, brown or green in color; and rarely blue. The common red color is due to iron.
Thank you Wiki. Ah yes, microgranular,
I spied it in a highly tempting shop when we were in holiday in Turkey many moons ago. It haunted me and just before we leapt back on the bus, for we were out on an exploration, I fell into the shop and bought it. It still give me a lot of pleasure.
Thanks to everyone who's taken part in the challenge during May, it's been fun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.