Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Day 3

Of radiation, and it was a perfect day to head out for a paddle once I was done being zapped.

It was my first solo trip kayaking this year and it was everything I wanted it to be.  I was the only one on the lake, except for birds, turtles, dragons and damsels and frogs.  I nosed my kayak back into the reed beds, exploring parts of the lake that I had been wanting to see.  Last fall, the water levels were too low, and the water too overgrown, to get back into the nooks and crannies.  They didn't disappoint.  

At one point when I was bobbing gently in the lilies, I caught motion on the water.  To my surprise, and delight, it was this tiny frog, an Eastern Cricket Frog, I believe.  They are an inch or less in length and I'm not sure how I would have ever seen it had it not jumped.  Anyway, as you can see, it had a fancy hat on (a tiny bit of dandelion, I'm guessing) and just begged to be photographed.  And trying to get a reasonably sharp shot while hefting a long lens from a gently rocking boat...not easy.

Two other shots from today:
Dragon with a snack
Female Wood Duck

Anyway, after lunch, I was pooped so had a nice long nap.  Smiling all the while.

Be safe and kind ...and eat something yummy (recommending dark chocolate with nuts.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.