Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Life and Death on the Window

If you've been with me a while, you know that when summer comes around, I can often be found intruding into the secret lives of arthropods.  Which is kind of funny when you understand that I spent much of my life being terrified of insects and spiders (especially spiders).  But thanks to Blip and some specific Blippers, I've not only overcome my fear of all things creepy crawly, but have actually come to really enjoy them.  

That all being said today's image will not be pleasing to all.  This is a female Furrow Orb Spider and she has finished wrapping up the leftovers of some hapless dragonfly that got caught in her web which is cast over one of our windows.  This species of orb weaver is really common and there are at least a dozen that have webs spun on the outside of our house.  You typically never see them during the daytime as they are creatures of the night.  But sometimes, in the bright light of day, they need to package up a little something to snack on.

And just so you know, when I see a live dragon or damsel caught in a web, I extricate them, pick the webbing off, and set them free.  In return for which I have been nipped.  By the dragon, not the spider.  

Anyhoo, even if you don't care for spiders, I hope you will appreciate the beautiful patterns on her back - she's well dressed, isn't she?

I had my second radiation this morning - it was all done in about 5 minutes.  And I felt totally calm today, unlike yesterday.  This afternoon, I had my first appointment with the Medical Oncologist who will be overseeing me for at least the next five years.  She is also the one who will be managing my estrogen-blocking therapy, which I will be starting next week (gulp).  I like her very much - she listened intently to my questions and concerns and talked very openly with me about ever concern  I had..  She and I will do very well together  It is good to have a team I feel so positive about.  That said, it has been an emotional day.  I feel that some medicinal chocolate is in order.

So keep safe and stay kind.  And indulge in something yummy, like dark chocolate...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.