Whiteford Point Lighthouse

It must have been a tough life as a lighthouse keeper. This lighthouse is pretty remote, it's a 3 mile walk from where I parked the car but maybe a cart could have brought him a bit closer before the National Trust cut off the track. The last bit of the walk is across mussel beds (the easy part as they're level), rocks of all shapes and sizes. It seems like you're walking forever and the lighthouse doesn't seem to be getting any closer. 

It's apparently the only wave washed cast iron lighthouse. There are others but the other surviving lighthouses of this type stand well clear of the water on either harbour piers or reefs. It was built in 1854 to replace an earlier light and decommissioned in 1926. It's grade 2 listed and I think it's wonderful.

It's been a lovely warm day. I was awake early and decided to go for a local walk. I hadn't decided to go to the lighthouse at that stage or I might have stayed in bed a little longer. It was lovely sitting in the huge grassed sand dunes eating my lunch with skylarks flitting about trying to fledge the youngster. I seem to have done 25,287 steps today, that's over 11 miles. I should sleep well tonight and then I'll be heading home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.