Bumbling Bug ID

Lovely warm sunshine brought the bugs out. I saw my first holly blue butterfly of 2021 - very late. Some day-flying moths were on the wing too including a green carpet, a first for me. Another first of mine was the pair of mating brassica shieldbugs in extras. Evidently they are very variable. They can have white, red or yellow markings. 

When I was on my knees photographing a bee I noticed my first, minute, speckled bush cricket nymph of the season.

I spent ages trying to identify the adorable furry beetle that I found buried in a buttercup. I put it on my hand so that I could see it better. I've searched the UK sites I usually use to no avail. It looks to me to be a sort of chafer. It's very similar to bumble flower beetles which are found in the US.

PS @iancbeavis on Twitter has identified my beetle as Tropinota hirta or squalida. It is not listed in the UK. Exciting that I've found a rarity. :)         

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.