Poor Deer :(

I was so happy to see the young buck muntjac (pictured in extras) standing and staring back at me this morning and even happier when I captured the beautiful doe in number thirteen disused greenhouse. I last photographed her here on the 8th February. She stood motionless gazing at me this time and I was able to adjust my settings and get quite a few shots. Eventually her ears started to twitch nervously and I've pictured her with one ear back and another forward. Dogs do this when they're confused or nervous. Eventually she turned and made her way slowly into the shadows. As we headed for the house I was thinking how lovely it is that she seems to trust me.

What a shock when I saw my images on screen. Her front right leg is hideously damaged from the knee down. It looks like an old injury that has healed with the bones misaligned. I was so upset that I couldn't bear to look at the images again until this evening. I have seen a fallow deer running with the herd with a similar injury. At least she is mobile poor dear. I'm hoping that she isn't in too much pain.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.