Thrill of a lifetime!

An incredible day, and it’s only 1pm (or 1300 as they say in some parts). I woke early to drive Aimee to the airport for her flight (with Pirate, her cat) to NYC for two incredible months. I’ve loaded her down with websites for all the things to do in NYC that are free, along with my favorite Greenwich Village coffee house, my favorite walks, favorite views and neighborhoods. Then there are the art galleries and artists, foods, clothes, and happenings she will discover on her own. It could change her life, and she feels ready for a change.

A friend of hers who was in a car accident and has been paraplegic for some years is in New York for surgery at Mt. Sinai that may make it possible for him to walk again. He will need 24-hour care for at least two months, and he invited Aimee to be his roommate and night-time carer. They’ll live on the upper eastside near Harlem, only two blocks from the northern end of Central Park. His parents are helping with the rent and will meet Aimee’s plane later today. She won't be paid for her work, but she'll have a chance to live in New York for just long enough to experience it fully but not burn out.

Then I had my weekly coffee date with Margie (Extra). It’s raining, so not great weather for sidewalk coffee sipping. We met inside her apartment for the first time since the pandemic began. It was a joy to be able to hear each other, as the traffic and the espresso machine always present challenges. “Oh wow,” Margie said, “what would it be like to be 45, unattached, and able to spend two months in New York? It must be perfect.” My sentiments exactly.

If I should find myself with an unoccupied hour, WalkingMarj has gifted me with the Hay Player, a way to watch/hear as many of the Hay Festival talks and interviews as I can fit in. Thank you, Marj!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.