Grey Heron

No sign of the young one at the loch this morning but the adult was at the far end. It was straight across for some fish. I gave it all the pollock which it ate readily. I had a couple of fresh cod fillets which I was going to give to the young one so I went off in search of her.  When I got about half way round I heard the familiar heron call and turned round to see the adult flying behind me. When I stopped it landed on a log opposite me and stared over. I gave in and gave it one of the cod fillets which seemed to satisfy it. There was no sign of the young one. 
I went back in the afternoon having bought a couple of seabass fillets in case the young one was there. I was walking round the loch with my camera, when a man out with his granddaughter told me that there as a heron quite close to the shore if I wanted a picture. It was the young one. He was feeding her bread which she was just picking up and dropping. When she saw me she was straight over. At that the guy and his granddaughter wandered off. She was quite hungry and ate the fresh cod and the seabass. I am having a fishcake tonight and my fishmonger is having a party!
The extra is the adult from my morning trip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.