Whernside from Wharfedale

Strangely, I felt a lot worse at this photo point than I did 40 miles later. Maybe it was the sight of the temping train line with multiple stations all trying to draw me in.  Luckily, when I arrived in Settle, I'd missed the train by a few minutes and cycling home would take me about as long as it would to take the next train.  

I wasn't convinced I'd have a successful outing up the next hill but the break for my second jacket potato seemed to do the trick.  One of the bike shop staff from the other side of the square came over to ask me why I'd chosen this cafe (which I quickly managed to interpret as 'why not mine?' as I was working out who he was.)  I would choose it if they did gluten free cheese toasties or jacket potato but I knew from a few years ago, they did neither.  I was hoping he'd say they did but instead, he tried to tempt me with a veggie chilli - can you imagine hitting a steep hill moments from leaving the cafe on a veggie chilli?  Anyway, he understood but didn't promise me any new additions to the menu. I guess the cafe is struggling and I'm not exactly sure why - not everyone is as delicate as me.  Good for him for getting out and doing some marketing.  I would definitely choose a bike shop cafe if I could - you never know when something might just need fixing.

I was wondering what nature I might find to encourage me up the hill and sure enough, a stoat stepped out to stare for a moment and a small herd of deer were waiting in the sidelines as I neared the brow of the hill.  I had to look twice, thinking I might be hallucinating. But, no, the highland cows  were further on and those were definitely deer.


The weather couldn't really have been much better for cycling - once I'd taken the Langstrothdale turning, I'd stripped to shorts and short sleeves, there was barely a breeze and the rain stayed away.  I sat outside in the Hawes cafe and again, once I reached Settle.

It was a big day out where I wondered if I'd bitten off more than I could pedal but I seemed to remember how to dawdle along on tired legs and the day turned out remarkably well.  

I didn't even fall through the front door.  But don't go thinking I wasn't wasted! And being served dinner a few minutes after arriving was heaven on a plate.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.