a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Rain over the Somerset Levels

This is the view from the Mendips over part of the Somerset Levels looking towards rain falling over Brean Down and Weston Super Mare .

After yesterday's glorious sunshine today turned out to be much milder, but overcast and occasionally showery.  I was keen to spare you yet another damselfly macro and instead chose to drove up on to the Mendip Hills in the hope that I could spot something to photograph.  

I had intended to have another look around Priddy pond but a car accident had snarled up the narrow Mendip roads.  Instead I visited Deers Leap, near Priddy.  Its somewhere I know quite well from spending long days on these hills on a bicycle back when I was a bit younger and fitter. 

To be honest, when I was on the bike I didn't really take in the views that much.  When you are climbing a hill on a bicycle not looking at the view is obviously quite important, but it is also psychologically helpful not to think about the full hill but rather just the next bit you need to get up.  

I've always known that it was beautiful but I'm coming to realise how blinkered my earlier days in these hills were.  I shall be back.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.