Memories

One of the first new plants to flower in the old garden, planted out not long after I moved in, was this iris.   Then, as now, I had raised it from seed.   The current clump was sown two years ago, among the last batch of seeds sown there before I had to move on.   Back in 1992 it was known as a dwarf form of Iris setosa but now it's recognised as a form of Iris hookeri.   From it's performance so far it will do better here in Wales with a richer soil and a wetter climate.

Jamie's had an understandably quiet day at home but reports this evening that he feels a bit better which is good to hear.   I've worked a little, cooked a little, had a long walk with Meg and a good phone call with my solicitor.   Progress at last towards a financial settlement, good news after the old house was abruptly taken off the market a week ago, at the point where completion was in sight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.