Chiffchaff

As soon as I set off for a walk, the first bird I usually hear is the chiffchaff (Phylloscopus collybita), often followed by skylarks, robins and goldfinches. Today I managed to spot the warbler and took this photo on full zoom. (Note the blue sky! Miracle of miracles - warm sunshine on a bank holiday weekend - not to mention almost the first we've had this May!)

The grass verges were a riot of colour - yellow buttercups, white stitchwort, blue bluebells and red campion. None of my photos did the colour-mix justice, as the green grass predominates, but they did look beautiful. It's my favourite time of year (I'm sure I'm not alone in loving this season), but it's only now that the gales and rain have stopped that we can begin to enjoy it.  At last!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.