Snapjax

By Snapjax

Sport on Sunday

An El Camino Day for me today.  I left the house with my photo brief of a blip of sport.  I no longer run for buses so I let the No.2 to Roundhay Park swoosh past and waited for the soon due No.3 which took me to Lidgett Lane (Brackenwood). From there I walked along North Park Avenue, it was quiet, sleepy, warm and leafy. At the end I passed by the Public tennis courts, well used now that the Tennis Season is upon us. Come on Garbine Muguruza!

My path took me by The Mansion House, where scaffolding is being erected as next weekend Roundhay Park will  host the 2-day Leeds Triathlon event.  That has next Sunday's sports blip decided.

I enjoyed my bus journey, my route was really pleasant, the park was interesting.  However, the act of walking was not easy.  I had no rhythm to my stride or pace, so at this point I turned up to Mansion Lane and back onto Roundhay Road. From here I could get on a No.2 back to Chapel A.
I headed to the first bus stop on Street Lane where the electronic indicator told me the next bus was due in 27 mins (Sunday Service),   I so I set off along Street Lane, stopping at each Bus Shelter to check the waiting time.  I was at a stop nr. Harrogate Rd when myself & the bus's arrival coincided.

I had walked 3.5 miles so stopped at Seven Arts for a agua natural and salted peanuts. I also ordered half a Timmy Taylors which tasted sour and I left it undrunk. Then I headed home.  Being on El Camino taught me to feel comfortable travelling alone, to sit in a public place and be content. I was only away for a fortnight, walked between Burgos - Ponferrada.  I recently re-watched BBC's Pilgrimage: The Road to Santiago, the second episode covers the section I walked. Ed Byrne, Neil Morrisey and Debbie McGee can walk with me anytime.

It is a lovely, summery, hot Sunday afternoon here in Leeds, and perhaps time for a siesta.  Buen camino!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.