Sugar Water Customer

The sugar water has been in high demand today, with the feeders needing to be filled a number of times. My son filled this little feeder he made himself and two waxeyes arrived as soon as he turned his back. I took the shot through a window in very low light conditions.

The rain continues, though it has not been so heavy. As I expected the flooding in my garden drained away. There is still a lot of water in the countryside that I can see from here.

Last night over 40 houses in Springfield (a small town west of here) had to be evacuated when the picturesque stream that flows through the town became a torrent. I have not been able to see if any damage was done in my neighbourhood. There have been no trains on the tracks and only a few 4x4 vehicles on the highway. My newspaper was not delivered this morning. Our water supply has been compromised, requiring the pumps to be turned off and the reserve to be used. The water that is available has to be boiled. Fortunately I have a big holding tank so my son turned off the inlet valve to conserve water for the community.

Last night, for a few minutes, the rain stopped and the wind dropped. In the eerie silence I could hear a distant roar like a waterfall. I opened a window to listen and realised that it was the little river a kilometre away, that is normally just a dry bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.