Water Water Everywhere

The weather people were not kidding about the heavy rain. This is a shot of part of my garden. I have never seen it so bad before. The Council has issued an alert to prepare for self evacuation if we are concerned. I donned raincoat and gumboots and went for a walk. There was a lot of water, on the move and forming lakes. Fortunately for me the built-up railway line forms a barrier until the water is carried away downstream. There could be a different story for people on the other side of the line.

Water has gathered in the lower parts of my garden, but the whole garden has a small cliff along two sides. This usually draws off water. So long as a stream uphill is not diverted I should be okay.

A lot of people further south are definitely in trouble, with homes, roads and bridges flooded. The rain is not expected to ease off until late tomorrow morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.