Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Church during COVID times

(31/5/21)
I am going to attempt to catch up with blipping here. I can't believe it's been almost a week that I last posted a journal entry.

As you can tell, I got knocked sideways last Wednesday. It is, unfortunately, all to do with medical insurance - the fact that it is mandatory with quite a hefty fine if you don't secure it, thus making it fair game for insurance companies to band together and hold people hostage. The company we've been with the last two years want at least six times more to give the exact same basic, minimum cover!

There were silver linings though. The newly opened carpentry shop downstairs let me have a piece of (71.1cm) wood for free and it is even the same colour as the window frame, so looks invisible! (The tension rod I have been using since 2012 is giving up the ghost.)

And as you can see, I went out - to the SA meeting held on every other Wednesday at Holy Trinity company. Just two of us today (!!!) but it was good. The hall that has been allocated to us can normally seat over one hundred people. COVID restrictions mean it is operating at 30% capacity. It looks so sad. :(

I was home before 8:30, in time for dinner and straight back to a video I was working on. I wasn't able to attend the Zoom Blipmeet.

The day began though, with G taking herself to work (she had an 8:30 start) so I took the opportunity to give my balcony a sweep in the cool of the day. "Cool" being a relative term. It didn't take long (twenty minutes) for me to be completely drenched and heading straight for a shower.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.