JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Project 365 day 151: Cockchafer beetle

I found this large beetle, about 3 centimetres long, when I went to fill the watering can. I'm always alarmed to discover potentially voracious creatures which may want to much our vegetables, so I turned to Google and learned that it's a cockchafer beetle, one of the biggest beetles found in the UK, and also known as a May bug. The larvae eat plant roots and can be a problem, so I hope there are not too many of them around. 

It's been another beautiful day, warmer than yesterday, and I potted on some more plants - another tray of tomatoes and the aubergines, which I started in February and which have grown even more slowly than usual. I would like to be planting them out now, but they are definitely not ready to be outdoors just yet. P has planted out cauliflowers and Brussels sprouts, watched by eager pigeons waiting to swoop the moment he left them unattended. He has covered them with temporary netting, until we get round to setting up hoops and nets for long term protection. (Seven months till Christmas lunch!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.