The Red Shoe

John Rushton's in Wigmore Street is my favourite shoe shop in London. When I have a moment of madness I pop in for a browse. They aren't cheap and I usually manage to escape without buying anything but today I fell for a pair of blue suede numbers with a bonus of a chat with John.

He has a long history, having been a film editor working with, among others, Franco Zeffirelli, and being a connoisseur of smart mens shoes for the last 20 years. When I asked him if I could take his photo he rushed out to the back and came back with an exquisite little film camera ( a Minolta I think).

I pulled the mirror round to reflect his splendid red trousers. Next to this red shoe on the shelf was a green one. Tempting but fortunately not in my size so that saved me a further dent in my wallet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.