What’s Another Year

What indeed. I may be a year older but maturity continues to elude me. This was my attempt at recreating the childhood “what the presents were wrapped in is more fun than the actual presents” scenario. As it’s not such a significant birthday this year, it’s been a lot more low key. Bacon bun in M&S cafe for breakfast and a sunny walk around Kendal Castle this afternoon have been the highlights of the day. I’ve worn my new running shoes all day though, as the chap in the shop said I should get my feet used to them before attempting a run.
In the wider world, zero deaths were reported today - the first time since the crisis began. But this may just be due to delayed reporting of figures because of the Bank Holiday. Certainly, the number of new cases being reported does not give any cause for complacency.
Generally, the world does feel a lot more “normal” than it did a year ago. Some of that is down to being further ahead in the easing of restrictions but mostly I think it is because we have learnt how to live with the virus and adjusted our lives accordingly. In many ways, the removal of all remaining restrictions in the weeks ahead may be quite a scary process.
It’s going to be an interesting couple of months...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.