fairyhedgehog

By fairyhedgehog

Scum

Neil and I walked down to the duck pond today, and I took this photo on the way. It's a rather flamboyant poppy in our neighbour's garden and it seems to have gone from bud to overblown rather quickly.

When we reached the duckpond we found hardly any birds there and the pond almost entirely covered in thick, spongey, green algae. It was really rather shocking.

When we got back I talked to my daughter-in-law, and after a bit of googling to find out who looks after the pond, she rang the local council who said this was a serious issue and they'd get in touch with the Rangers straight away. I didn't know we had Rangers and I hope they can do some good because the pond is in a terrible state.

I didn't see the ducklings or even any pigeons, just two ducks, a moorhen, and a couple of geese.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.