Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Gift!

Two months ago I mooted the idea of decorating all the cannon in Medway as a bit of subversive art to open the council's eyes to their own lack of imagination.
Meanwhile the beloved red-lettering is being gradually obliterated and 27th May has already been whitewashed.
So naturally I felt a certain trepidation at the thought of sneaking about in Chatham after dark with stencils and spray-paint, even my pal with the ladders doesn't seem to come into Chatham at night.

So it was an absolute gift that the current “Estuary 2021” festival includes a "Draw Hope" pavilion with loads of vertical space and plentiful art materials to borrow smack bang in the middle of Gun Park. To bag myself this otherwise virgin rectangle of space I needed to climb over a railing, but that was OK, all perfectly within the rules, and it means it is less likely to have someone make a drawing of cake all over it.

The people staffing the pavilion, handing out the markers and allowing me to climb over their railings were not displeased by my addition, there were some gentle nods of agreement and wry smiles. So lucky to have the opportunity to express my hopes to the Council without needing to break the law or get whitewashed.

Oh, and I have signed up for their newsletter

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.