Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Someone at work had been given this remarkably well-engineered pen for the construction industry as a promotional gift from a supplier and they didn't want it, not their style at all. Happily they thought I might like it and so offered it to me. This is the nicest work moment since 24th January and likely to be my only happy memory of my current job. It has a little spirit level, tiny slot and Philips screwdrivers, and four scales. My dad would have loved it to bits.

The search for a new flat to rent in Bedford has been proving at least as tricky as the search in January for a place in Henley, except that in Bedford I don't have a body-double to send in on my behalf. Most letting agents are closed for Her Majesty's Purple Party but I have one viewing scheduled for Saturday. The cheap hotel was fully booked and so in desperation I booked the cheapest room I could find that was anywhere like central – a terrifying £167 for one person for one night. Heavens to Bitsy!
Then an agent who had sent me a video-tour of a gorgeous flat I had seen last night got back to me and asked if I was prepared to make an offer. You bet I was! Not only is it lovely, reasonably priced and in a great location, but if the contract could be agreed just like that I wouldn't need to visit Bedford and I could do something less costly and more enjoyable with my four-day weekend.

But then it transpired I could only have the flat furnished, despite the fact that the owner's furniture doesn't appear in any of the photos nor the video. Well I'm not putting my stuff in storage! So that's that.

I looked at more places online as they arrived on the market and called their agents. Nobody will be working this weekend and they will all expect me to view flats at their convenience at the drop of a hat. I have explained that I am a long way away and that being in full-time employment is actually a requirement to rent a place, but they don't seem to see the anomaly. I did find one other agent whose office will be open on Saturday so that might be a bit useful.

And then someone suggested I look at AirBnB instead of forking out top dollar for a swanky hotel room I don't want. So I've done that, found a place for £41, cancelled the hotel despite no confirmation yet from the AirBnB host and I'm keeping my fingers crossed that some good will come out of it.

I am becoming increasingly pissed off by the fact that it is now almost impossible to live in our society without a fucking smartphone. I'm so much happier with a ballpoint pen that has a spirit level, two screwdrivers and four scale rulers.

Helena Handbasket

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.