More Shenanigans

There were several large red damsefly visitors at the pond today, I've still got the red algae but it's reducing. I've added an extra where the male seems to be pushing the female under water - but I'd be happy to be corrected. I had a nice catch up with my eldest sister this morning. I persuaded her to use Facetime for a while so I could show her the chicks in the bird box, which she loved. It was good timing too as 5 of the 9 chose that moment to leave, the fifth kept changing its mind but went eventually. I haven't seen the ones that left, but I didn't want to disturb them either if they're still in the garden. The 4 left behind are a bit smaller and looked a bit discombobulated at their new situation. Another glorious sunny and hot day, unlike most of May which saw 4.34 inches of rain per my weather station (over 4 times the normal for May).

Day 442 / Day 16 of Step 3 of Roadmap Easing (for my record only)
The UK reported no covid deaths today for the first time since the pandemic started, but a caveat that this follows a bank holiday. Since last Tues new cases went up by 27% and hospital admissions rose by 7%, albeit on low numbers. The First Minister has delayed the easing of restrictions in many parts of Scotland as a precautionary measure re the Delta variant (was Indian), but Glasgow will move down to Level 2 on Saturday. Research from Israel signifies that 2 doses of Pfizer might prevent 98% of deaths.  In an experiment in a town in Brazil, nearly all adults were vaccinated and there's been a 95% fall in covid deaths  - the most interesting thing being that it suggests the virus can be controlled after 75% of over 18s are fully vaccinated. UK house prices rose 10.9% in the year to May per Nationwide, the largest rise in 7 years, driven by buyers looking for more space and gardens.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.