Newbie

I've been growing Achimenes on and off for many years.   Summer growing, with scaly rhizomes, they are easy to please given good light and just enough water.    Over the last few years I've added a few new varieties and this is one such.   Named Lionheart A, it's one of a group similar raisings all with very spotted flowers.   From tropical climes, they need some warmth to thrive but although usually grown as houseplants, they can be enjoyed in a greenhouse or conservatory.   In late autumn the top growth dies off and the pots should be kept in a cool place indoors until mid February when the rhizomes can be replanted in fresh compost.

Another hot day.   Assorted admin jobs done and my second jab booked.   Distracted by other worries I'd overlooked a text several weeks ago inviting me to book in - I ve made it in the nick of time.   I cooked Spinach and Ricotta Cannelloni tonight using home grown spinach .... delicious!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.