A time for everything

By turnx3

Another cicada!

Tuesday
It was a mainly grey day today, but it stayed dry and was pleasantly warm, so no complaints! When we first got up this morning, there was a baby deer in our garden (see extra) - mother deer was the other side of the fence, and seemed more intent on eating grass rather than being concerned about her baby! The poor baby was running up and down the fence trying to get to its Mum. Roger went out in his dressing down and opened the gate at the bottom of the garden, but it still took several more minutes before the baby found it! We’re not sure how it got in, but it’s happened at least a couple of times before, and what usually happens is Mother and baby come in through one of the side gates which we’d left open, and then Mum will jump over the fence, seemingly oblivious to the fact that baby can’t get over the same way!!
Roger was able to get an appointment with the doctor this morning about his knee - she reckons he’s sprained it - there was a more specific medical term, but I don’t remember it - and she’s prescribed some anti inflammatories, and given him various exercises to work on, some now, and others as it begins to feel better. While he was out, I was getting my daily exercise, by cutting the back grass, or according to my Fitbit, an hour of outdoor biking! I also got several loads of laundry and some ironing done. I was sitting outside doing some knitting when a cicada landed on the table. I know I blipped one about ten days ago, but I  didnt have a blip yet, and I thought he looked quite handsome, with his wings glistening in the light, and after all they’re only here for about six weeks, before they’re gone for another 17 years! We haven’t had too many in our neighbourhood, but I have seen several pictures on Facebook from other areas, where bushes are covered in them, and they are all crawling up mailbox posts, and doorways.
Step count: 10,115

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.