a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Early start

Wide Wednesday: Colourful

I suspect that this one is going to be a bit too sedate for the Wide Wednesday challenge this week, given that the subject is colourful, but I like the image a lot so its going to be my blip today, and I'm just going to shoehorn it into the challenge come what may ;-)

This is a shot of the landscape near Newton St Loe.  I've blipped this tree before but from a different angle.  In the distance you can see part of the Bath Spa University Campus, being lit up by the sunrise.

I woke ridiculously early again, and, when 5am was reached decided that I might as well get up and make the most of the light.  As I walked through the woods and fields to get to this spot I became aware of the crows making a bit of a fuss.  Eventually as I rounded a bend I came across a crow on the path in front of me.  It was only as I got closer to it and it hopped and fluttered down the path away from me that I realised it was a fledgling crow.  While it could manage short bursts of flight it couldn't yet fly properly.  I needed to get past it, but in its panic it kept running down the path and not away at right angles.  Eventually we came out of the wooded part and I was able to climb up off the path into the field.  The fledgling then promptly hopped back down the path towards where it had come from and, presumably, the anxious parents that had been making all the noise.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.