a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Emergence

I've put together a series of 9 shots taken earlier today, showing the emergence of what is I think a female common blue damselfly, although at the stage it had reached by the last of these photos it was rather difficult for me to be absolutely sure.  If it is she will be green when the drying off and hardening up process finishes.

The whole process took no more than 40 minutes in total, a period when the insect is incredibly vulnerable to predation.

I didn't hang around to check whether I was right about the species and sex - I really wanted to get back to the desktop to see what this lot looked like in large!  I've given you two extras so that you can see things in a bit more detail, if you are interested.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.