a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Sedge Warbler fly by

I've been trying to get a decent shot of a Sedge Warbler off and on for a few weeks now.  I often hear these little birds (which love the reed beds on the Somerset Levels) but spotting them isn't always that easy as they are generally singing from somewhere in the middle of a dense patch of reeds.  

When I have seen them before, there have inevitably been reeds in the way of a clear shot.  So you can imagine my delight when I managed to see this one perched and clearly visible on the top of what I think might be a Giant Reed Mace (although I could easily be wrong about that as I'm no plant expert).  I still had the lens focused on him when he decide to take off and so managed to grab this shot of him in flight with his wings spread. Even at 1/3200th of a second there's a fair bit of movement in those wings.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.