Struggle

Bit of a struggle trying to do all the tasks that I need to do today. Quite a productive day but also I have faced challenges.

I only remembered to put the recycling out at 11:30pm And trying to pour items into the recycling bag without disturbing the neighbours is an incredibly challenging experience!

This evening I ended up going through the filing cabinet, trying to sort receipts and bills into their proper place, as it’s become a bit of a dumping ground over the last year and rather messy. I’ve got a brown paper bag and placed some of Mr H‘s receipts/ ownership documents in it, as they are becoming jumbled with lots of my receipts, and it’s going to be very difficult to find things that we need.

I’m trying to find some of the deeds to the house because there is an issue with one of the fences and I need to doublecheck who owns it. The neighbours say it’s jointly owned, and I don’t doubt it, but I want to see if it extends to the wall which retains their land.

On my mission I ended up reading through all of the historical deeds to the house which were fascinating, They date back to 1925 when the plot of land was bought off a neighbouring household. I found out that two people have died in the house, many years apart and weirdly both on the same date, 12th of October. As the house has only had about five or six owners I find that incredibly strange.

I found out that a small strip of land which was purchased by one owner, in addition to the original plot, was bought off Stroud Brewery when they were trying to raise some money back in the 1940s. One of the men who signed the deeds was quite famous and his ancestral home is now a National Trust property. He was a knight of the realm in fact! I need to do much more research. I wonder if the local brewery may be interested in a photo or copy of the Stroud Brewery wax seal on some of my conveyancing deeds. This makes my house sound very grand but it’s just a 2 bedroom bungalow!

I’ve got a car insurance renewal quote and for the first time in ages it’s gone down. I’m assuming it’s because of the pandemic maybe and the fact that I’m driving a little bit less?

Today I managed to plant six sunflower seedlings out. Put them in two different spots in the garden to see which works best and I’ve surrounded them with slug pellets and Whelk shells which have been crushed to put the slimy beasts off. Fingers crossed they survive the night.

I’m really behind in planting things in my raised bed and also potting on my pepper plants. The weekend is fast approaching so hopefully I’ll get a chance then.

I found this beautiful little wild plant in the garden yesterday and carefully mowed around it. I’m hoping to identify it but I’ve not had time to look it up yet and I took a quick shot before I went for a walk. Looks like the ants really love it, they were all over it. First I thought it was an orchid but now I’m not so sure. I’ve never seen anything quite like it but I expect they’re super common. Answers on a postcard?

Starting to wish I’d taken some annual leave. Hoping for a holiday.

Wondering if it is a narrow leaved vetch? Having seen a picture of a similar thing on the East Lancs road after a bit of a Google.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.