Ambitious

Decided to do the 'No Mow May' thing. After all of the rain we have had I can honestly say the lawn has never been so overgrown. It felt very ambitious trying to tackle this with the mower. I'd usually use the strimmer but it's also a silly heavy thing and I tend to struggle when the wire cutting thing goes wrong. Mr H is away in Ireland for several weeks so I went for the method I could albeit effortfully manage!

I've managed to mow nearly all of the lower lawn now with a small amount to finish off tomorrow if I can find the time before it rains!

I moved lots of heavy logs that had been dumped on the lawn so it looks much neater now.

During mowing I found a surprisingly low bird's nest, a squirrel's acorn hoard, I said hello to 5 slow worms including a rare male worm (well rare for my garden!). The mowing was hard work as some of the lawn is on difficult to navigate hilly bits and the mower  is a very heavy petrol fuelled thing which doesn't have a working forward drive so it's like using a very heavy, badly behaved shopping trolley. 

I definitely look like I''ve seen the sunshine. I looked like a walking beetroot by the time I'd finished despite wearing a hat.

I've added some extras of the mowing for my own records.

The raised beds are nearly ready for all the plants I've been growing in the porch. Fingers crossed they are happy there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.