Cuckoo - 55

I went for a walk around Bickerton Hill and was lucky enough to spot the cuckoo. I didn't hear it calling but spotted it fly into a tree. At the time I was in two minds whether it was a sparrowhawk or cuckoo but having run it through Merlin Bird ID it has confirmed it as a cuckoo. Later on I heard and saw another/same one but it was too far away to photograph. 

I think a cuckoo trumps a common redstart which I spotted towards the end of my walk. I have never seen one of these before so it is a shame to make it an extra but it is a very grainy photo. 

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Lands End to John O'Groats 1000 Mile Virtual Challenge Update

Day 115 -  West Yorkshire.  5 miles walked. 470.7 miles completed

Into West Yorkshire today as I passed through Hepworth, Scholes, Totties and New Mill to the east of Holmfirth. I passed the Lazy Turtle Brewing Company which gave me the chance for some virtual beer samples.


 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.