South of France?

Nope! South of Bovey Tracey .......... and looking extremely floriferous & exotic. Almost triffid like .. George doe'snt like to touch the flowering spikes, this obviously being a self fertile sample as they need both male & female palms to produce blooms. What a stunning example of a Trachycarpus fortunei, I'm very envious as I have one in a pot WHICH if I'd planted in the ground goodness knows how many years ago when I first bought it would probably be as big if not bigger and possibly producing similar flowers. Mine is obviously stunted. I'm very tempted to plant but we rent so it's not my garden, & I would'nt want to leave it  behind should we move. I arrived at G & J's to start at 8am having been up to my plot, emptied my home garden waste into the compost bin, watered, then loaded the back of the car up with trays of plants for tomorrows sale. Dropped them off at the house, delivered faggots & hog's pudding off at Mum's on the way through to BT.
George had just woken up, sat on the edge of his bed with a cuppa in his hand as I passed his bedroom window .. "MORNING GEORGE!!" :-DD  "OH, HELLO VIV, HAVE YOU BEEN HERE ALL NIGHT??" :-DD
* First job on the list - paint the metal garden arch, then the remaining metal gate. Tick!
** Prune laurel hedge & tie in clematis around  bird table. Tick!
*** Prune Pittosporum & Correa. Tick!
**** Lift clumps of polyanthus for Jean to split. Tick!
***** Dig out Hakenechloa macra. ( Jean does'nt want it replanted so home it came with me) Tick!
****** Plant daffodil bulbs removed from Spring planters into the borders. Tick!
******* Tie in clematis on side fence. Tick!
******** Tie in vigorous new growth on greenhouse grapevine. Tick!
*********Cut back daffodil & tulip leaves & spent heads. Tick!
**********Top up shrub containers with J.Innes no3. Tick!
*********** Hang gates, then tie in the honeysuckle & Trachelospermum  on arch. Tick!
Speaking of ticks .. George has bought a new clock to hang on the wall outside the greenhouse beside his back garden viewing patio chair. He likes clocks! He has one in the greenhouse, another on the wall beside his patio chair outside the front door, at least one clock indoors, a cuckoo. I heard it doing its thing. :-) & apparently would like another for his bedroom. We were having this conversation with Jean while I was dealing with the grapevine ... I said, I wonder what you would call a person who keeps/collects clocks?. Then thought 'Timekeeper'. Jean piped up "You were never on time though George" Whoops!! :-DD They are such an amusing couple.
1315hrs .... Can I go home now????

"Well I know what I've got for my tea tonight, faggots, chips & mushy peas". George shouts as I depart .... Yep! I brought two butchers faggots for G&J. I hope they enjoy them.
An hour til cider o'clock ..

Thanks to BikerBear/Anni for hosting Flower Friday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.