The Lighted Life

By Giacomo

Hats Off (or On) to Joe Blogs

My dear friend Kendall recently sent a link to Joe Blogs presentation at TED Scotland. I had seen it twice before but obviously the message still gets lost on me from time to time so I watched it again this weekend. I very much encourage you to see it as it truly describes the DNA, the magic and the essence of Blipfoto. In fact, I find it brilliant.

In it, Joe speaks of the opportunity afforded to us by blip each day and to post a meaningful or memorable moment of our day and to leave a trail of our life behind us. When I look back to some of my images over the last year, I understand the importance of Blipfoto and the special aspects that make it unique.

For thirty years I have been travelling about at break-neck speed and I am afraid that I cannot even begin to recount many aspects my daily life or my travels other than through a review of my used airline tickets. Likewise I have attended many beautiful family, sporting and community events that have gone completely unrecorded. And, then, there are silly moments like today when I finally had the time to visit the newly opened Goorin Brothers hat shop in uptown.

You see, I am crazy for hats; especially Italian inspired driving caps. And I found myself in "Hat Heaven" today. Was it as good as Borsalino in Milan? I think not. Yet, I decided on a grey linen-driving cap that reminds of one that my Nonno used to wear. The delightful sales associate explained that there was a secret pocket in the lining to hide essential items like a passport or currency. "Great!" I said as I thought to myself: "Now, I can lose both my passport and my hat at the same time. How brilliant!"

Does this mean I will blip everyday? Surely not, as there are days where I simply do not have the energy or the time. But Joe's message reminded me of the ability to record one special moment in any one of our days whether or not the images are grand. And the middle of this day for me was punctuated by thirty glorious minutes away from the bullshit of the office trying hats on to my heart's content.

What means will you use to remember your days?

Thank you for the blip love on my Guthrie image yesterday. You are all too kind.

I posted another film image from my Chicago visit last week here: Strangers in the Light. I really am having fun with the amazing feel of analog images. Did I tell you I love film????

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.