Treasured album

This beautiful photo album was put together by my dad to record his national service in the army in Egypt. It is full of black and white photos of him , his mates and some sites, almost 75 years ago. Extra photo of one of the pages. It's always been around at mum's house and when we moved her she asked if I would like to have it. The answer of course was a resounding "yes please." I'm hoping it will continue to be passed through the generations. My two eldest children remember their granddad with great fondness but unfortunately my youngest was only a year old when dad died and doesn't have the same memories, but has none-the-less has heard many many stories.
I had a trip to town on the bus today, a very jolly journey as there is only ever about six people on the bus all knowing each other by name so there are friendly greetings and there was even a bit of a sing along today! The driver had the radio on which was playing old uk Eurovision hits along with a commentary, Save all your kisses for me by Brotherhood of Man seemed to be known by all. I guess all but maybe one of us easily remembered it back in 1976! Stan, who always takes the bus on a Friday, greeted with "fish shop Friday is it Stan?" duly got on the return journey with his fish and chips wrapped and ready to eat when he got home! I love the bus!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.