Dull day

A dull day called for biscuit baking actually it was more a case of empty biscuit tub! I rarely buy biscuits these days because of the sugar overload, so make these and reduce the sugar added each time. Sometimes I still crave a chocolate hobnob or a custard cream but having no shops close by I can't just pop out and get some, especially now I don't have my car! I'm contemplating a trip to town tomorrow on the bus so maybe I'll pick up some chocolate to melt and dip the biscuits and half coat. What an indulgence and probably too much of a faff to even bother! I want to visit the Alex Clarke shop and pick up a couple of birthday gifts ready for the next few weeks so probably won't have time for chocolate shopping too!
I had another frustratingly long call to BT for mum, the upshot of which is that they have started the whole order yet again, third time lucky?? This means she now has to wait until 16th June and I'm not holding my breath. Thank goodness mum hasn't had to sort this herself she never would have managed. Despite the three people on the end of the phone today being very apologetic, helpful, reassuring and understanding, I am still livid that all this has happened through BT's original incompetence! Then I have to try and play it down to mum so she doesn't get upset. Luckily a couple of other good things happened for her yesterday to ease the blow.
I made a sweet potato, chickpea and coconut curry for dinner which Barry said was delicious. I couldn't face it as I'd eaten some of the goat's cheese for lunch and it had made me feel quite unwell. I've never really liked goat's cheese but thought I'd give it another try as it was fresh. That was definitely a mistake and I will be giving it a very wide berth in the future! I ate what might seem an odd dinner, boiled basmati rice, banana and yoghurt. It was actually really nice and settled my stomach so all good.
I also unpicked the sweater I'd started for one of the granddaughters. I'd finished the back and two sides but somehow it didn't look right and I think I miss-counted some rows. I've changed the needle size, changed the actual size and treated myself to some new row counters so hopefully a better result!
Looking forward to a bright sunny day tomorrow and as I have lots of leftover curry, I'll not need to cook, so will be quite self indulgent with how I spend my time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.