Life after Burradoo, NSW

By MountGrace

The people who live in our house

In a quiet moment today I looking at some of the simple but treasured objects that adorn our home. They all have a story and many of them travelled back with us from overseas holidays.

This chap came home with us in 1984 from Warwick Castle.From the time I was a child I have always had a fascination with castles. Perhaps it was because we don't have any castles in Australia and I always felt cheated.

The first time my better half and I travelled to the UK together (1984) we visited castle after castle. It may have been a test of our then fairly new partnership! It survived and we still visit castles and stately homes when we are in the UK.

This Tudor knight is one of a series produced by Marcus Designs, sometimes called Marcus Replicas. I have learned today that the company, based in the Vale of Belvoir, Leicestershire, was a manufacturer of medieval reliefs and busts. It was established by the artist David Morton and salesman Brian Flannery in the 1960's and closed down in the early 2000's.  The plaques are sought after by collectors because of their historical accuracy and excellent design. They can't have my knight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.