Wellington City at dawn

Must have been tired last night as I did almost none of the crossword I'd saved to do in the hotel room. Woke in time to run and walk to the top of Mount Victoria as I thought I might see a splendid sunrise. An absence of clouds, and the sun rising behind the hills across the harbour meant that the sunrise was more dazzling than colourful.

As I turned to head back down to the city and the hotel for breakfast before the second day of the meeting, I saw the effects of the newly risen sun on the central city buildings with reflections into the harbour.

In large, it is possible to pick up the rowing crews training just on the far side of Chaffers Marina. At the wharf is a small ship (the Queen Mary 2 and Celebrity Solstice are at the Aotea Quay to the right of this picture). I cannot recall the name, and the Wellington Ports seem to want it unknown. I think that it is a small cruise ship for nature cruises.

Also able to be seen here is the hotel at which I stay when in Wellington overnight .he tower pat of the hotel has a golden slab of light from reflecting the sun.

Back home now, and will shortly join S in sitting with the boys.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.