Here's Johnny

Johnny Marr at the Junction last night.

I realised on the way home that a lot of my favourite guitarists begin with J. Jimmy Page, Johnny Marr, Jonny Greenwood, James Honeyman Scott to name a few. I might change Alfie to Jalfie ;)

Anyway it was an excellent gig, his own songs are very good, I think he played everything on the album, a couple of reworked Electronic songs went down well but it was of course the Smiths numbers he played that brought the house down. Stop me, Big Mouth, London and How Soon is now, all rocked up a little, brilliant. As was I fought the Law which appeared in the encore.

Marr himself is a much better singer than I was expecting, he really was very good and as for his guitar playing, well he is just brilliant. Really impressive. Managed to make the jangly sparkly guitar he is known for into really rocky jangly sparkly guitar. Lovely ;)

As usual when I see a great gig I have a determination to get into a band, so if anyone in Cambridge needs a very average guitarist. No? Thought not!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.