Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Rose Chafer Beetle

I watched the remainder of my Macro pre-workshop video today, which mainly comprised reviews of photos with settings. A number showed a practical use for the “pro capture” shutter on my little Olympus; this uses the electronic shutter at 30fps and pre-fills the buffer so that when you press the shutter it actually records those shots as well and so overcoming shutter or finger press lag.  In this mode I did manage to capture a bee taking off from a flower, but sadly not in focus; more practise needed! It also results in many frames to review … I think I took around 160 shots for less than a dozen compositions!!

While playing, something dropped onto my leg, this rose chafer beetle. It was rather sleepy and let me move it to a more photogenic location where I got this shot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.