Never Enough

No matter how many bedding plants you have bought to go in the pots for the summer you always seem to run out when you are transferring them into the tubs. So as I woke up early this morning I decided to kill two birds by going down to Columbia Road flower market.

It’s the second time in a few weeks, having never been before. The stall I focused on was also being sussed out by other early customers including this lady who was casting an experienced eye over the plants. The stall holder was nowhere in sight but she told me that he is probably away parking the van and having his breakfast. "He usually gets back here about 7.20" she assured me. 

And bang on time he arrived with a couple of assistants and was immediately encircled by punters wanting to complete their purchases. Nothing was priced and when I asked about  the trailing geranium plants I had selected I was told they were £6 each. They're the pink ones to the left of her head. 

That seemed a bit steep to me so I went on to another stall where I bought four for six quid. Much more like it, except they aren't trailing ones. So perhaps you have to pay top whack for the trailing variety.

The fact that so many people were buying stuff, including Ms Cyclist, suggests that his prices were fair. I think a return trip is required to investigate further.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.