Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Sights from my Bike Ride

It was so nice to be out on my bike this morning.  I rode 26 miles and was only on roads for 2 or 3 miles.   All the rest was on trails.  I love that more and more are being made and they connect with other ones.  I could get a trail map but it's fun to just ride and see where I end up. :-)

Top Row:          Western Kingbird
                           Chocolate Lab - more about him later
                           Red-tailed Hawk

Middle:              View looking west across a protected wildlife habitat.  The mountains in the background are finally starting to lose their snow.
                           Poppies with a tiny photobomber.  They are in bloom all around town and they're so bright and beautiful.
                           The St. Vrain River tubing area.  Tubes can be rented and there is a shuttle that picks up tubers about 2 miles downstream and brings them back to this point.  The river is wide here and not running as fast as in other places.

Bottom:            Western Meadowlark....again.  I love these birds and their beautiful song.  They aren't around for long so I'll blip them as long as they're here. :-)
                           A dad with his ~4 year old on his lap and his ~8 year old on the tube next to him.  Look closely and you'll see their Lab (from the top row) between them.  I talked to them when they were getting set to go and then rode down the path ahead of them and waited to watch  them floating down the river. 
                           Eastern Kingbird - We have both Western and Eastern in the summer.  I think this might be the first time I've seen them on the same day. :-)

I am grateful for our "partly cloudy" day.  It was still 92 F by the time I got home but at least the sun was behind the clouds some of the time.

Thank you to everyone for your visits and stars and hearts.  I really appreciate all of them!  I'm sorry I'm so far behind, I'm going to start catching up tonight. xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.