The dog had passed by

Today has been a day to enjoy having a roof over our heads, and one that doesn't leak. Although the rain has not been as heavy as the last couple of days, nor quite as persistent, the wind has been strong and whipping up the waves into Snells beach as the tide was coming in.

As I descended the 70+ steps I heard the Kuihi (Canada geese) start their honking. I paused at the bottom and watched as a few of them, scattered amongst the gaggle. started to harry the others and almost heard them into the water. If I stayed where I was they would all be in the water, anyway, so I headed off to the side and another way to the sand, and set off running along the beach to Ariki Drive boat ramp.

I did have time to notice that ten black swans were on the edge of the gaggle of geese. Not sure if that changes the collective noun or not.

Further along a score of Poaka (Pied stilts) were resting on a sand bar with some Tarapunga (Red-billed gulls). Even though I was more than 50m away, that was deemed too close and the flew away and landed near or even amongst the Kuihi. 

Out from the Ariki Drive boat ramp was a large group of Tarapunga, which were discombobulated by a dog being exercised on the beach; its master was throwing a ball for the dog to chase, and although that is what it did (ignoring the gulls) the birds flew off. But not away. The hovered in the wind above the Pohutukawa on the bank above the sand.

Then in groups the size of the one in my blip, they fought the wind to come back and around and eventually land on the tongue of sand they had previously occupied. a human with a camera was of no concern to them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.