SamAgainPlease

By SamAgainPlease

Blickensderfer No.5 Serial number 22255 (1896)

Speaking of getting rid of baggage.... the oddest thing about this old typewriter, that I've had for years, is that I do not have a clear recollection of how I came by it.

I was sure it was my maternal grandfather's and that he used it in The Great War.  I tried to confirm this with my mother who denied ever seeing it before.  My father, who's been working on family history (on both sides) also knows nothing.  So I tried my cousin, who transcribed some letters my maternal grandfather sent in 1924 when he accompanied a wealthy family friend on a world tour, the primary purpose of which was to visit The Mayo Clinic.  He also knows nothing of it.  The letters were hand written - but who would've bothered taking this even though it is arguably the first "portable", even on a ship etc.

So, anyway, I was looking at the provenance as I'm giving it to one the most fabulous museums I've ever been to: Hall School Museum and Heritage Centre.  We went to a special exhibition there in 2015 to mark the centenary of the war.  I was fascinated by a story about the importance of making and sending socks to the front line.  It was a real eye opener to me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.