Better late than never

Monday is wash day ..... change the bedding & towels day, but as I went up the plot early, & hubby doesnt rise from bed until 10am or later, the bed did'nt get stripped & laundered until this afternoon, but it was soon READY to peg on the line, & with the warm air is virtually dry now at 7.45pm.
A sad beginning to the day up on the plot .. I could hear squeaking from the shed where the young robins were tucked up, only they were'nt tucked up. They had obviously attempted to fledge, but not able to get through the opening at the top of the door, they had fallen or landed in the bucket of bamboo canes, 2 dead, the third still alive but a leg trapped between the canes. I managed to release it, so popped it back in the nest hoping the parents would feed it. Phew! They did, thankfully. The fourth baby nowhere to be found so perhaps it got out okay although I did'nt see much activity other then bringing tasty morsels to the babe in the nest. I hope it survives. I feel bad about the babies that did'nt make it. I should have wedged the door open a little so that they could have got out more easily. :- ((
A very productive morning on the plot - runner beans planted, sunflowers planted  between the sweetcorn patch. 2 squash had succumbed, I think it could be the young pheasants. GRHHH! Again! I tok 2 spare squash plants up to the plot this morning so replaced the chomped ones. I sowed another row of carrots. Cut the second batch of stinging nettles to make nettle tea, my arms currently tingling. First batch of comfrey tea on the go as well, first batch of stinging nettle tea ready to strain & bottle.
Put canes up for the climbing French beans. Weeded, hoes, then watered everything. I got home about 2.20pm. Quick lunch in the sunshine while reading the paper then stripped the bed, vacuumed through, then the laundry was ready to peg out.
A couple of jobs up in the greenhouse done then watered the potted plants. Then I spotted 2 gorgeous iris, new additions to the plot. The bulbs added last Autumn, & what beauties they are .. My hot bed is slowly evolving.
I'm going to treat myself to a meringue nest filled with strawberries & a dollop of vanilla ice cream now, while making acouple of new plant sale posters. I've decided to hold another this Sunday coming. Some folks have said they were sorry they missed it, & I still have a good range of plants to sell. My total is now up to £290.10 ...

Thanks to random_angel & Majoayee for hosting Mono Monday this month.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.