OlyShipp

By OlyShipp

Helpful / Hilfreich

Our family has a long-running joke that when one of us - usually me - gets into a pickle in a faraway land, we should see it mainly as a helpful opportunity to learn the local language.

Thus me having an unexpected heart scan in a French hospital as a student, or being posted as a volunteer in a dusty rural outpost of Cambodia - or indeed absorbing the personal and societal punches of the last year in my broken German - all mainly helpful for language learning!

As this latest overseas adventure draws to an end, I have started packing my bags (and clearing out). This photo shows my newly-helpful seven year old donating several loads of clothes to be re-fashioned by the Deutsches Rotes Kreuz.

I certainly found the vocabulary test on their recycling bin to be most useful, and hope the donated items are also of help to someone in need.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.